Skip to content
June 15, 2014 / Ginny Banks

Final Project: Narrative Photography.

Unlike other types of photography, such as landscape and portraiture, the point of narrative photography is to tell a story or suggest a sequence. The story/sequence can be fictitious or documentary in format. It can be linear or consist of flashbacks or montages of events. It can be inspired by poetry or the lyrics to a song. The possibilities are endless. Students worked with color film for this assignment. Narratives consisted of at least seven images each. The following images are excerpts. The first several are by Claire Wong. Claire’s words: Living is about accumulation. It’s about collecting, growing, consuming, breathing. Claire wanted to create classical still lives yet with modern things. The next two are her images.

_DSC0001low

_DSC0002low

The next series are Claire’s as well. I love that type is incorporated within her images. Here is her written narrative: I’m sorry I left the back door unlocked you’re going to get yourself killed I’m sorry I left the gas on I just forgot how am I going to let you live by yourself I’m sorry I’m sorry I scratched your car I’m sorry I don’t now what else to do tell me what to do I’m sorry I’m not skinny enough I’m sorry I’m sorry I sleep all the time you need to stop taking naps why are you so tired I’m sorry your room is a mess I’m sorry I’ll clean it (I never clean it) ( I’m sorry)

_DSC0005low

_DSC0006low

_DSC0007low

_DSC0008low

The next series is by Katie Glasnovich. This is an excerpt from her written narrative “……when we leave the room that is our home and step into the world of our backyard, everything we know is small…We become trapped in the backyard trying to find ways to entertain ourselves; obsessed with trying to make life beautiful….This backyard means something to me because I have grown up in it my entire life. It is me. This house I photograph is me. And these photographs represent me….I have struggled through loss; I have struggled through so many things. But I have been gifted to see the beauty…I cherish quiet moments of bliss. I cherish the way rays of sun may hit a certain object. I cherish life. I am ready to break free from the world as I know it; I am ready to venture outside of my backyard. I woke up one day. I saw many things and felt many things and experienced many things. Now I want more from the world.

_DSC0020low

_DSC0021newest

_DSC0025low

_DSC0023low

_DSC0024low

_DSC0026low

_DSC0027low

_DSC0028low

The next three images are by Lisha Du. I love the soft focus. Lisha is lamenting lost love: This is what I wore on our first date. I dropped into your smile that day. This dress seems old and sad today.

_DSC0044low

Time passes by. I still remember your smell every time I smoke. Marlboro is your favorite cigarette. Now I am smoking it, thinking about our romance.

_DSC0043low

There are a thousand ways to get over you. Memory is the only problem.

_DSC0042low

The next three images are by Meridian Smith. Meridian wrote a poem for her narrative called “Life Goes On.”

If you want  something to stay the same then you’ll have to learn to deal with decay. These things that are falling apart once held great significance for those who were here at the start. Within this memorial lives my grandfather’s parents, my grandmother, my father. Within this memorial lives cobwebs, mold and junk. We’ve abandoned the things to keep the memory safe. A memorial exists to respect the dead. But it’s beauty exists for the living’s sake.

_DSC0017low

_DSC0018low

_DSC0019low

Jonathan Dunham photographed the following narrative about fishing. Jonathan’s words: My day on the water allows me to get away from reality. As I head out to find the best place to go fishing, I start to reflect on what is happening in my life. When I arrive where I will be fishing, my thoughts drift away and I begin to focus on what I am doing and the nature around me.

_DSC0031low

_DSC0032low

_DSC0033low

The next three images are by Ben Earnest. Ben wrote the following: The main theme for this triptych is sunlight. What I was trying to accomplish is to show the landscape of our overall neighborhood while including sunlight as a major part in all the photographs. I want to capture as much beauty in my neighborhood as I possibly can.

_DSC0037low

_DSC0038low

_DSC0039low

 

 

Leave a Reply

