Skip to content
January 9, 2016 / Ginny Banks

Narrative Photography Continued.

This blog post is a continuation of the same project so if you haven’t seen the earlier post scroll down and start from the beginning. Nora Curran photographed the next body of work. Nora enjoyed the portraiture assignment and decided to do a character study of her friend. Here is an excerpt from her written narrative. I photographed the most interesting person I know, my friend Joy. My goal was to capture her essence, her personality, true joy, through photographs. After choosing my favorite prints, I asked her to tell me some of her favorite songs. The following is the first lyric: Think of all the things that are wrong with your life and fix them. Think of all of the things that you love about your life, be thankful that you are blessed with them. Think of all the things that hold you back and realize that you don’t need them.

Nora131

Nora132

Nora133

Nora134

Nora135

Tongxin Wang wrestled with many topics at first and finally settled on reflections. Her first image is a self-portrait and is a great introduction to her project. Most of her photographs deal with water. Here is her narrative about the first photograph. I am not confident to have myself in a picture. Even though I tried to take pictures of others using a mirror, I was always in the picture. One day after a shower, I saw the condensation on the mirror and cleared off a small area. I like that I am unclear and my camera is clear. I like this idea a lot because I can draw different things on the mirror with my hand and take a picture of it. I took several and decided on this one. It looks dreamy but fun.

Tongxin74

Tongxin73

Tongxin71

Tongxin72

The next group of photographs is by Zekun Huang. Zekun was experiencing great loneliness being so far away from his country. Each photograph is a self-portrait. He wrote captions for each image. There are more than 1400 square feet in this apartment that is in downtown Bellevue but I am the only one who lives inside.

Zekun79

I love cooking since it can give me satisfaction and make me no longer miss my home for a moment.

Zekun80

There is better education and better landscapes here but I cannot find the same feeling as my home country.

Zekun81

Audrey Spann entitled her work, What Being a Twin Means to Me. She introduces the viewer to her sister and herself as being similar but different. Often times people think that we are simply mirror images of one another. Although we do look alike we are not the same, we cast our own shadows. We are completely different people, who just look alike. Audrey wrote quotes for each set of photographs.

Audrey123

Audrey124

Audrey125

The next group of photographs are by Damon Tang. Damon elected to take a more technical approach to his photographs of still lives. He experimented with different lighting in each and called the project Light and Darkness. He states: I wanted my photos to be viewed in a way where one photo will share an aspect with another photo so that they will have the same idea in mind but the idea may be portrayed differently. The first is a triptych where I took multiple shots of my friend posing with the bass guitar. I used a handheld speed light to achieve the lights from different angles.

Damon136

Damon137

Damon138

Damon139

Gabby Kapa wrote a fictional piece that utilized a location that she found and wanted to photograph. She used herself and her friend as characters in the script. Her writing follows. If you sit here quietly, you’ll see them, hiding behind the trees, through the doorways, the windows, a quick movement in the corner of your eye. Here, we see a town, what is left of it and it’s people are crumbling brick walls covered in ivy that has spent years slowly crawling and obscuring everything. If you stay here long enough you can see those last few who lived here, trapped in the ruins of the town.

Gabby109

Gabby108

Gabby112

Gabby111

Gabby110

Madison McGavran produced the next body of work. I was inspired by the ability to manipulate light as well as the effect that lighting has on night photographs. In night photography, light is the element that accentuates one object but hides another. I was able to use light in order to mold the message that I am trying to convey to the viewer. I also played with techniques that allowed me to manipulate light in unusual ways. I chose to do night photography because I was interested in how I could incorporate rich blacks in my photography in order to create a cohesive collection of photographs. There are a few images of old balance beams that had been tossed outside of a gym. Madison is also a gymnast so the work is even more autobiographical and mysterious.

Madison55

Madison57

Madison56

Madison61

Madison59

The last set of photographs are by Amaya Palenque. I don’t have access to Amaya’s written accompaniment to these images but she was very daring. She chose to photograph at night in lonely, industrial areas of Seattle. She made these excursions by herself and the images are compelling.

Amaya87

Amaya83

Amaya86

Amaya85

Amaya84

Leave a Reply

